Online webinar: Yoga on Mental Health 30 Sept, 2023

A Beginner’s Guide to Mantras In Suryanamaskar

Significance of Mantras In Surya Namaskar

The chanting of the 12 Surya Namaskar Mantras, also known as the sun salutation, is an essential part of the Surya Namaskar practise, which elevates it to the level of a spiritual exercise. They are performed in conjunction with the surya namaskar postures, which extol the various attributes of the Sun God, also known as Surya.

According to eastern astrology, these 12 mantras are supposed to be the sounds of the zodiac signs through which the sun travels throughout the course of a year in the form of 12 phases (rashi). Each mantra’s middle phrase (between Om and Namah) is one of the Sun God’s names. Every syllable of the Sun God’s name comprised the basic energy vehicle symbolised by the sun itself.

What Are the Mantras Accompanying Each Pose

The following is the list of mantras accompanying each pose:

1. Pranamasana or Prayer Pose
Chant: “Om Hraam Mitraaya Namaha”
Meaning: Who is friendly to all.This pose guides the heart chakra. It calms the mind and body and can improve posture. Additionally, it enhances focus and concentration.

2. Hastauttanasana or Raised Arms Pose
Mantra: “Om Hreem Ravaye Namaha”
Meaning: the radiant one. This posture directs the throat chakra. It extends the chest and belly while increasing lung capacity. It can also help with digestion and alleviate anxiety and exhaustion.

3. Hasta Padasana or Hand to Foot Pose
Mantra: “Om Hroom Suraya Namaha”
Meaning: Who is responsible for dispelling darkness and bringing activity. The spine, hips, hamstrings, and calves are all stretched. Hasta Padasana can also help with stress, anxiety, and weariness, as well as neck and back stiffness.

4. Ashwa Sanchalanasana or Equestrian Pose
Mantra: “Om Hraim Bhanave Namaha” Meaning: The brilliant one, the one who shines. The third eye chakra is influenced by the equestrian pose. It stretches the quadriceps, psoas, and hip flexors. It also strengthens the knees and abdomen while increasing mental power.

5. Chaturanga Dandasana or Four-limbed Staff Pose
Mantra: “Om Hraumh Khagaye Namaha”
Meaning: Who is all-encompassing, moving through the sky. This mantra and pose have a significant impact on the throat chakra. Stick Pose works on arm, shoulder, wrist, and core strength. It also helps your posture while improving your balance and concentration.

6. Ashtanga Namaskar or Eight-Limbed Pose
Mantra: “Om Hrah Pushne Namaha”
Meaning: Provider of sustenance and fulfilment. The solar plexus chakra is guided by this stance. It expands the chest and increases spinal mobility. It also improves the core, legs, and chest, as well as developing upper body strength.

7. Bhujangasana or Cobra Pose
Mantra: “Om Hraam Hiranya Garbhaya Namaha”
Meaning: Whose skin tone is as brilliant as gold. The sacral chakra can be led with the cobra pose. It strengthens and tones the glutes while also stretching the shoulders, chest, and tummy. As a bonus, it can help ease strain on the back and spine. The back and spine may also feel less stress.

8. Parvatasana, or Mountain Pose
Mantra : “Om Hreem Marichaye Namaha”
Meaning: Source of unbounded illumination. The arm and leg muscles are also fortified by Parvatasana. It promotes more blood flow to the spinal column.

9. Ashwa Sanchalanasana or Equestrian Pose
Mantra: “Om Hroom Aadityaaya Namaha”
Meaning: An offspring of Aditi, the supreme deity of the universe. The abdominal organs are toned by Ashwa Sanchalanasana. Improvements in leg flexibility are a bonus effect.

10. Hastapadasana or Standing Forward Bend
Mantra: “Om Hraim Savitre Namaha”
Meaning: Somebody who is accountable for life. Hamstring flexibility is increased with the help of Hastapadasana. It boosts range of motion in the hips, shoulders, and arms.

11. Hastauttanasana or Raised Arms Pose
Mantra: “Om Hraum Arkaaya Namaha”
Meaning: Someone deserving of honour and distinction. The abdominal muscles are stretched and toned in hastauttanasana. It causes the chest to expand, allowing for greater oxygen intake. The capacity of the lungs is completely used.

12. Tadasana or Standing or Palm Tree Pose
Mantra: “Om Hrah Bhaskaraya Namaha”
Meaning: The source of all knowledge and light in the universe. When practised regularly, Tadasana can help correct poor posture. It benefits your thighs, knees, and ankles by making them stronger. helps with sciatic pain.

How to recite the Sun Salutation Mantras

The Sun Salutation Mantras can be said aloud or silently in your thoughts. The key is to do so with an attitude of thankfulness. The breathing is regular and easy. While chanting the mantras, be mindful of your breathing. This will aid in mental regulation. You may chant a mantra at each of the twelve steps of the exercise. Mantras should be said with the correct intonation. Refer to this video for the exact pronunciation.

Conclusion: The Benefits of Sun Salutation Mantras

Surya Namaskar is rendered more potent by the concurrent chanting of mantras. It has both subtle and profound impacts on the mind and body. Instead of focusing on bodily suffering, the mind focuses on the chanting of the mantras.

Surya Namaskar awakens the mind and body to the sun’s vitality. The mantras aid in its transfer and assimilation. Incorporate these 12 mantras into your daily Surya Namaskar practise. It will provide you with a feeling of power and unity with the major energy source.

Come learn the secrets and practise the sun salutation with us at https://aaymonline.org/sun-salutations/ You can also register with us for multiple events on yoga and meditation throughout the year at https://aaymonline.org/register-for-aaym/

Traditional Surya Namaskar
Chair Surya Namaskar for Elderly People

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *